Founded in 1946 by Dr. Jean NUSSBAUM assisted by Mrs. Eleanor ROOSEVELT, the first President of Honorary Committee of the AIDLR.

A Non-governmental organization with participatory status to the United Nations (UN) ECOSOC Committee in New York and Geneva, in the Council of Europe (CoE) in Strasbourg and to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) in Warsaw.

President: Mr. MARIO BRITO

Secretary-General: Mr. PAULO S. MACEDO

Honorary Committee´s president: H.E. ADAMA DIENG
United Nations Under-Secretary-General, Special Adviser of the United Nations and Secretary General on Prevention of Genocide

Honorary Committee’s Former Presidents:
Eleanor ROOSEVELT, Dr. Albert SCHWEITZER, Paul Henry SPAAK, René CASSIN, Edgar FAURE, Léopold Sédar SENGHOR, Mary ROBINSON.

Former Secretaries-General:
Dr. Jean NUSSBAUM, Dr. Pierre LANARES, Dr. Gianfranco ROSSI, Dr. Maurice VERFAILLIE, Mr. Karel NOWAK

Designated in 1987 as a «Messenger of Peace» by the Secretary-General of the United Nations, H.E. Javier Pérez de Cuéllar

«Freedom of conscience is one of the most precious gifts offered to humankind. Freedom of conscience is not a negotiable liberty. The right to freedom of conscience must be the prerogative of all respectful societies, societies which respect citizen's believers, agnostics or atheists. Opposition and deprivation of freedom of conscience in the midst of a society is comparable to a crime against humanity»

Dr. Bruno Vertallier Former President of the AIDLR

Related Content

Contact Us
We welcome your comments and/or questions

Mailing address

AIDLR Headquaters
Schosshaldenstr. 17
CH 3006 Bern, Switzerland

Tel. +41 (0) 313-591-531

To send us an email, you can use the form below: